Requirements for Senior Year Kline award

This is a competitive award available to all senior medical students at UT Health San Antonio. Participants must submit a case report in the form of a typed paper that will be reviewed by a panel of judges. The judges will select the report that best demonstrates the use of Pathology studies in patient diagnosis and management. The awardee will receive a plaque and $1,000.00. The winner of the award will be announced at the graduation reception.

*Students should use the following guidelines for the 4th year Kline Award:

A. The subject of the case presentation should be a patient you encountered at any time during your training at one of the San Antonio or Harlingen hospitals or clinics. The case should be a good illustration of the use of laboratory medicine and/or anatomic pathology studies. If the case is not from the University Health System or Audie Murphy VA Medical Center, the report must be accompanied by a letter from the attending physician stating that you have permission to use the case and providing a contact phone number.

B. The paper must be double-spaced with font size 12 and must not exceed 12 pages, excluding title page, table of contents, and illustrations. The case report must use the following format:

  1. Title page (one with and one without student name): the title page must contain the case report title, and patient hospital number and location. The student name and patient identification must not be noted on any other pages. For reasons of confidentiality, do not include the patient name on any material submitted, including radiographs. On the first page include the submitting student name. The second title page should be identical except that it does not contain the student name. This second title page is used in the version distributed to the judges to preserve anonymity.
  2. Table of contents: the table of contents should repeat the title of the paper, list the total number of pages, and list any special illustrations.
  3. Case description: write a succinct description of the case including patient medical history, presentation, relevant imaging studies and other non-pathological relevant studies.
  4. Laboratory medicine and/or anatomic pathology studies: describe the laboratory and/or anatomic pathology studies that were performed and how they helped to establish a diagnosis and / or affect treatment.
  5. Differential and final diagnosis: discuss the differential diagnosis and how the final diagnosis was obtained.
  6. Patient treatment and clinical course: discuss the clinical course of the patient, treatment and outcome. If an autopsy was performed discuss the findings and correlate with the clinical impression.
  7. Discussion of disease entity: Present a thorough discussion of the disease entity including typical clinical and pathology findings, pathophysiology and a summary of recent research. Cite references in the text.
  8. Illustrations: when indicated, charts, graphs and other illustrations may be included. Photomicrographs of biopsies, autopsy material, peripheral blood smears may be helpful.
  9. Bibliography: the bibliography should have a minimum of five references from recent journals.
  10. Acknowledgements: the report should be the sole work of the student. Any help obtained should be acknowledged, including photography, typing, graphic services.

C. The completed paper should be submitted to the Pathology Resource Center, Room 466L (inside Computing Resources). The paper must be submitted before 4pm on February 2, 2009. A panel of judges will select the winning paper. Criteria for judging will include: 1.    How well the case demonstrates the use of laboratory medicine and /or anatomic pathology studies. 2. The participant’s understanding of the disease entity and use of pathology studies. 3. Format, grammar and spelling.


If you have further questions, please contact either of the following:

Dr. Josefine Heim-Hall

(210) 567-4085

Dr. Wieslaw Furmaga

(210) 567-4074


4th YEAR KLINE AWARD – Abby Richmond

2nd YEAR KLINE AWARD WINNER – Jacqueline Bucher



2nd Year Kline Award Recipients
Thomas B. Dougherty 1978
Alan D. Northcutt 1980
Stephen A. Malone 1981
Raimundo Gonzalez 1982
Margaret B. Dillard 1983
Richard W. Brown 1984
Cynthia M. Shappell 1985
Katie C. Cowan 1986
Susan J. Mahler 1987
Rita M. Moss 1988
Kevin L. 1989
Edward K. 1990
James S. Wyrick 1991
Michael J. Majors 1992
Amy L. Mumbower 1993
Steven R. Travi 1994
Juliet P. Howard 1995
Thomas K. Mattingly 1996
John P. Kirkpatrick 1997
Patricia J. Parker 1998
Jennifer Blankenship 1999
Jason S. Griffith 2000
Nicholas C. Boetticher 2001
Jennifer Horan 2002
James Olin 2003
Michael Patyrak 2004
Edward Tarnawa 2005
Aaron Moon 2006
Adam Bellinger 2006
Pamela M. Deaver 2007
Catherine Lacey 2008
Emma Ramahi 2009
John Carey 2010
Ian McAlister 2011
Melecio Medina 2012
4th Year Kline Award Recipients
Patrick Lee Allen 1995
DeAnna L. Dance-Kwan 1996
Steve Y. Chung 1997
Join Y. Luh 1998
J. P. Kirkpatrick 1999
Elizabeth Butler 2000
Carlo Demandante 2001
Shelly Gunn 2002
Courtney C. Greene 2003
Olivia A. Lee 2004
Megan K. Kressin. 2005
Jeffrey Schmidt. 2006
Jasmine Dao 2007
Angie Li 2008
Brent Lacey 2009
Will Greendyke 2010
Lauren H. Theilen 2011
Claire Randall 2012