Hematopathology Fellowship

The Department of Pathology at UT Health San Antonio offers a one-year, fully accredited fellowship in hematology/hematopathology with an optional non-accredited second year. Training includes laboratory hematology, interpretation of tissue biopsies performed for hematolymphoid disorders and experimental hematology. The first year of fellowship training includes core rotations in the clinical hematology laboratory at University Hospital and the flow cytometry, molecular diagnostics and cytogenetics laboratories in the South Texas Reference Laboratories at UT Health. Clinical training includes interpretation of peripheral blood films, body fluid preparations, bone marrow aspirates and biopsies, lymph node and other tissue diagnosis, work-up of patients with hemostasis/thrombosis disorders, flow cytometry immunophenotyping, cytogenetics, molecular diagnostics, and immunohistochemistry. The fellow actively participates in teaching medical students and residents, and makes a presentation to the San Antonio Society of Pathologists. The second year of non-accredited fellowship training includes nine months dedicated to research in hematopathology and three months signing out as a junior attending. The hematology fellowship program is directed by Dr. Kenneth Holder. The fellow is jointly supervised by the faculty in hematopathology.

Number of positions: Two

Requirements: Board eligibility or certification in anatomic and clinical pathology.

Stipends: Commensurate with level of training, (Click here to view current Benefits)

Information on Living in San Antonio.

Current Hematopathology Fellows

Olaoluwa Bode-Omoleye, M.D.
Fellowship:  Surgical Pathology, UT Health, San Antonio, TX, 2018
Residency:  UT Health, San Antonio, TX, 2017
Medical School:  University of Ibadan, Nigeria, 2005
Graduate School:  M.P.H., Emory University, Atlanta GA, 2010
Hometown:  Ikole-Ekiti, Nigeria

Richard Wu, M.D.
Residency:  Department of Pathology, Detroit Medical Center, Wayne State University
Medical School:  School of Medicine, Zhejiang University
Undergraduate School:  School of Medicine, Zhejiang University
Hometown:  Fuyang, Zhejiang, China


Kenneth Holder, M.D. (Director) Hongxin Fan, Ph.D
Russell Higgins, M.D. Marsha Kinney, M.D.
Edward Medina, M.D., Ph.D Wieslaw Furmaga, M.D.
Gopalrao Velagaleti, Ph.D Leslie Greebon, M.D.
Alia Nazarullah, M.D.


Send inquiries to:

Kenneth N. Holder, M.D.
Director, Hematopathology Fellowship
Associate Professor
Department of Pathology
UT Health San Antonio
7703 Floyd Curl Drive
San Antonio, TX 78229-3900


Maria Gomez
Fellowship Program Coordinator
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
UT Health San Antonio
7703 Floyd Curl Drive MC 7750
San Antonio, TX 78229
Voice:  210-567-4010
Fax:  210-567-4637
Email:  GomezM10@uthscsa.edu